A New Cast

0902141936c -DogForDavidIt has been a few days since I was last able to post.  A part of that is due to trying to get things done on this end, and another part is because I have been so tired lately.  I do have a big update to share though.  I had my follow up appointment with the surgeon and got moved from my giant splint and ice machine to a cast.  I was going to get rainbow, but then I found out what they would have to go through in order to make a rainbow one so I settled for just pink instead. lol  When I got back from my appointment, my friend helped pick up my new meds and some markers and then her, her kids, and my sons all decorated my cast for me.  I’m loving it for sure. ^_^  Especially all the kid drawings.  I am definitely rocking the “mommy cast” now as I like to call it. 🙂

I have to admit that being in a cast is still something I am trying to get used to, even after being in that cast like splint for 2 and a half weeks prior to this.  I also am a bit nervous as to how well this recovery process is really going when I got moved to a cast even though my injury and surgery sites were both swollen pretty bad.  I also have lost movement of my big toe after a week of struggling with what felt like quick and random jolts of electricity hitting my toes.  The part that concerns me the most though was the response I received when I asked if moving to a cast meant that everything was healing well so far.  I was told that they don’t know if I am doing well or not.  Yep.  When I failed to hide my startled reaction to that response, I was met with a few comments about how they can’t know how my bones and ligaments are doing or if they are healing correctly or not because (in their own words) “it’s not like we can see inside your foot”.   Yeah, not exactly something you want to hear coming from the people in charge of making sure everything goes well in spite of your body fighting tooth and nail against that outcome.

For now I am trying my best to just relax though and to trust God to help get me through this one way or another.  I have been blessed with some caring friends and neighbor and a church family that has been helping make that a little easier too I will admit.  My favorite though so far is the cast decorations.  They make me smile every time I see them and it gives me a truly unique cast to show off so to speak when people come to visit. lol 🙂  Below are more pictures of it so you all can see it too.

0902141935 -DogForDavid

0902141934 -DogForDavid

a sweet message from my friend's young daughter :)

a sweet message from my friend’s young daughter 🙂

0902141937 -DogForDavid

Can't ask David to draw for you and not end up with a train somewhere in the picture. lol  He said this one is James. :)

Can’t ask David to draw for you and not end up with a train somewhere in the picture. lol He said this one is James. 🙂

My David did this heart for me.  Said he wanted to make it colorful so he mixed a lot of different markers together. lol :)

My David did this heart for me. Said he wanted to make it colorful so he mixed a lot of different markers together. lol 🙂

David's "signature"

David’s “signature”

Joshua's "signature" lol

Joshua’s “signature” lol

David's rainbow :)

David’s rainbow 🙂

One of my favorite pieces.  From a friend who shares my dislike for coffee, but also my desire to head back out to the new local coffee shop for desserts and chat time. lol  Who says you have to like coffee to go to a coffee shop? ;)

One of my favorite pieces. From a friend who shares my dislike for coffee, but also my desire to head back out to the new local coffee shop for desserts and chat time. lol Who says you have to like coffee to go to a coffee shop? 😉

.

.

Leave a Reply

