What Love Really Means

“I will love you for you
Not for what you have done
Or what you will become
I will love you for you
I will give you the love
The love that you never knew

Love you for you
Not for what you have done
Or what you will become
I will love you for you
I will give you the love
The love that you never knew”

— from: What Love Really Means by JJ Heller

*******

This song really touches home with me on a number of levels.  The fact that I can clearly see my own story in the first two verses, and I can emotionally relate to the story in the third, makes this song resonate deeply in my soul and heart.  The last chorus though… where God is answering with so much love and compassion… that’s what makes this song truly touch my heart and encourage me with comfort and peace.

In my life, I have known a lot of rejection, a lot of abuse, a lot of cruelty… I have been out-casted and thrown away by those I should have been able to look to and trust for love and protection.  I have been betrayed, lied to, and lied about.  I have been thrown to the wolves, used as a scape goat, and have had the idea that I was completely worthless pounded into me from almost day 1.

One Person though never betrayed me.  He has always loved me, even before I could realize it or understand.  And by His grace and promises, I can rest assured that He will never leave me or forsake me.

Thank-You Father… for Your love, Your hope, Your compassion…  Thank-You for Your peace and protection, for Your shelter from the storms life has thrown at me.  Thank-you for Your loving reassurance in my times of doubt and depression, and thank-You for your patient endurance as You try to teach me and guide me along the path You have for me.

Father?  Thank-You for everything ((hugs))

In loving and grateful faith,
Your daughter in Christ,
Cindi

Leave a Reply

